Emerging in and with

The Bachelor of Arts (Fine Art) (Honours) program is a unique, experimental space in which students are supported to develop an independent art practice. This independence is achieved within a framework that also encourages students to identify as part of a community of peers and other creative practitioners. Honours is both a working with and an emergence into a self-determining practice.

The dynamic of working with and emerging into creates a polyphony of voices—simultaneously harmonious and discordant. These voices challenge, stretch, support, engage and activate. They confirm a belief in the enduring poetic and affective qualities of art and art’s role in social, cultural and material change. Working with is also a type of labouring. Sara Ahmed’s ‘sweaty concepts’ is useful way of trying to describe the process of giving language to something that is hard to conceptualise and hard to experience: ‘a “sweaty concept” is one that comes out of a description of a body that is not at home in the world…or a description of the world from the point of view of not being at home in it’. Art is a process of expressing and articulating what does not exist or what is not yet acknowledged—it is a ‘sweaty concept’.

I want to congratulate the graduating cohort on their commitment to art and to their hard work in bringing into language ideas, materials and relationships. I want to thank their specific communities for supporting this engagement. Finally, I want to thank the academic supervisors, teaching and support staff in the School of Art for guiding and working with students in this process of emergence.

Dr Kristen Sharp
Associate Dean, Art
School of Art, RMIT University




The School of Art and our Honours staff would like to express congratulations to our 2019 Honours graduating cohort. We would like to recognise each artist for the remarkable ambition they have applied to their work throughout the year, with all members of the Honours community shaping through the impressive aspirations they each hold for their work. This ambition is manifest and experienced throughout this splendid graduation exhibition.

Further, The School of Art community recognises the academic staff in the Honours program who have supported these students. The Honours staff and each student’s individual supervisor are acknowledged for their commitment, energy and enthusiasm, along with their capacity to impart critical and specialised knowledge across a variety of fields of art practice.

Professor Kit Wise, Dean of the School of Art, and Dr Kristen Sharp, Associate Dean, Fine Art, have fostered creativity within our programs and School through the provision of a culture of support and enthusiasm for all of our students and staff.

And in turn, the students and academic staff are supported by exceptional teams of technical staff who ceaselessly provide guidance, information and technical understanding across various specialised fields of practice.

Finally, the administrative staff of the School equally afford outstanding support and guidance for all students and staff in the School community.

Each year the School is fortunate to be able to provide several awards for overseas travel and studio residencies. Therefore, on behalf of our students the School community would also like to thank the following people for their support:

  • Jeremy Kibel and Yasmin Nguyen, Directors of Blockprojects Gallery, for their ongoing and generous support of the Leipzig International Art Programme studio residency in Germany
  • Anna-Louise Rolland, Managing Director and Curator of the Leipzig International Art Program
  • The Australian Embassy in Berlin for their ongoing support of an annual exhibition developed by the Leipzig International Art Programme resident
  • Jason Ramos, Director of Eastside International Los Angeles (ESXLA)
  • Hiroko and Tatsuhiko Murata, Directors of Youkobo Art Space

The School would also like to acknowledge the active assistance of Andrew Tetzlaff, coordinator and curator of RMIT Intersect, in organising and managing the process of awarding the overseas residencies to our students. Andrew is equally acknowledged for his coordination of additional graduate residency opportunities at RMIT Situate artist in residence studios.

The School community would also like to thank the professional support and generosity of the members of the 2019 Selection Committee for our Travelling Grants and Studio Residency Awards:

  • Yu Fang Chi, artist and independent curator
  • Lesley Harding, artistic director at Heide Museum of Modern Art
  • Kathryne Genevieve Honey, gallery curator at Bus Projects
  • Jeremy Kibel and Yasmin Nguyen, Directors of Blockprojects gallery
  • Andrew Tetzlaff, curator and coordinator of RMIT Intersect

The School community would also like to thank the professional support and generosity of the members of the 2018 Selection Committee for our Travelling Grants and overseas Studio Residency Awards:

  • Brooke Babington, curator at Heide Museum of Modern Art
  • Bridie Lunney, artist and artistic director at BLINDSIDE
  • Chloë Powell, curator at Craft Victoria and co-director of Radiant Pavilion
  • Representatives from Blockprojects gallery and Niagara Gallery
  • Andrew Tetzlaff, curator and representative of the School’s INTERSECT program
  • Verity Haywood, curator and representative of INTERSECT of the School’s INTERSECT program



    Catalogue site design and development: James Ratsasane at
    Editing: Academic staff and the artists
    Photography: the artists and Christopher Taylor, School of Art

    Christopher Taylor from the School of Art Digital Team generously agreed to assist with photography.

    © copyright, 2019. All rights are reserved in this publication. No material may be reproduced or transferred in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, or by any information storage system without prior written permission from the School of Art, RMIT University.

Awards and Grants

The School of Art has a long tradition and focus on international engagement, and therefore the awards available to our students are specifically aimed to assist our graduates to build international experiences into their practice and emerging careers. The following awards are conferred on those graduands who demonstrate outstanding art practices and academic achievement:

Honours Bus Projects Award Recipient: E Scarlett Snowden

E Scarlett Snowden, 'Mother', 2019, mixed media, 60cm diameter.

Dromana Residency Recipient: Hootan Heydari

Leipzig Residency Recipient: Bronte Webster

Bronte Webster, 'Summoning and Soft Borders: The Formation of Embodied Painting', 2019. Installation view. Photo: Chris Taylor.

Tokyo Residency Recipient: Madeleine Joy Dawes

Honours Travelling Grant Recipient: Jessica Lyons

Jess Lyons, 'Parallel Narratives - Part 2', 2019. Stoneware, soluble cobalt oxide, glaze. Dimensions variable. Image: Chris Taylor.

Honours Travelling Grant Recipient: Vijay Thillaimuthu

Vijay Thillaimuthu, 'Conduit', 2019, sound & light installation/performance work. Electronics & fluorescent lights.


Ackowledegement of Country

    RMIT University acknowledges the people of the Woi wurrung and Boon wurrung language groups of the eastern Kulin Nations on whose unceded lands we conduct the business of the University. RMIT University respectfully acknowledges their Ancestors and Elders, past and present. RMIT also acknowledges the Traditional Custodians and their Ancestors of the lands and waters across Australia where it conducts its business.